Lady Midnight Review

ladymidnightLady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, Book 1) by Cassandra Clare

Synopsis: In a kingdom by the sea…

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.

A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?

About the Author: Cassandra Clare is the author of the #1 New York Times, USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Mortal Instruments series and the Infernal Devices trilogy, and coauthor of the Bane Chronicles with Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson. She also wrote The Shadowhunter’s Codex with her husband, Joshua Lewis. Her books have more than 36 million copies in print worldwide and have been translated into more than thirty-five languages. Cassandra lives in western Massachusetts. Visit her at CassandraClare.com. Learn more about the world of the Shadowhunters at Shadowhunters.com.

Genre: young adult, fantasy, romance

More Info: hardcopy, 670 pages, published by Margaret K. McElderry Book on March 8, 2016

4

I read Lady Midnight for Aentee’s (Read at Midnight and @readatmidnight) #ReadThemAllThonHere is my TBR pile for this reading challenge. I was reading this to achieve the Vermillion City: Thunder Badge – read a book with thunderous hype. I bought Lady Midnight the day it was released; I was very excited for the next Shadowhunters installation. However, I never actually got around to reading it. By the time I could pick it up, the book was everywhere (including spoilers) and I was put off. Here is my current trainer’s card, updated to the point that this review is published (9/1/16 at 10:00):

badge7.png

{Trainer’s Card graphic: http://www.deviantart.com/art/Pokemon-Trainer-Card-Templates-54644955

Pixel Charizard graphic: http://piq.codeus.net/picture/45661/charizard}

 

Emma and Julian are two amazing Shadowhunters and they are parabatai. They break the rules constantly, especially for matters of family. They will even go against the Cold Peace, a Clave law stating that no one should be involved in faerie business for any reason. The pair, however, will break the cold peace to get Mark Blackthorn back from the Wild Hunt.

After Mark was taken and their father killed, Julian became the head of the family for all intents and purposes. He has so many responsibilities, including solving the recent string of murders. With Mark back in hand and a secret investigation, the LA institute must decide who to trust, and they know that the Clave does not fall under that title.

The group of Blackthorns and Emma go on an adventurous investigation. Along the way, Emma and Julian’s feeling for one another grow, which is strictly forbidden and dangerous. When one of their own is threatened, they must use their newfound power and strength to defeat their enemy: a betrayer, someone they had trusted.

 

I’m going to start off with a statement: I didn’t like Lady Midnight as much as I like The Mortal Instruments series or The Infernal Devices series. Sorry.

Ok, now my opinion. I like the drama of the minor characters more than the drama between the main characters, Julian and Emma. This may be because I didn’t feel like there was enough emphasis on the seriousness of the consequences of parabatai falling in love. They list the dangers and Jem explains in in full towards the end, but it still didn’t hit me with the full amount of importance. For this reason, I was more compelled by the stories and problems of Mark, Cristina, Diana, and the younger Blackthorns.

The characters were all so unique. They were all distinctive and diverse. I’ll admit, I did have some trouble keeping the younger Blackthorns separate. For me this was because of their nicknames, which were all similar. However, the family dynamic of was what I really loved. As an only child, I have never gotten to experience brothers and sisters in the way the Blackthorns do. Julian doesn’t get to experience it either since he plays their father as well.

In addition to that, I didn’t feel as connected to either Julian nor Emma. I didn’t relate to them quite enough; this may be due to their very different circumstances from my own life or due to the 3rd person POV.

I loved how old characters were incorporated. I got to see the lives of Tessa, Jem, Clary, Jace, Simon, Isabelle, Magnus, and Alec in their new adult lives. I almost wish there was more about them. The feeling is that similar to catching up with old friends: nostalgic, kind, interesting.

I still liked this book. It was very long, but with a good plot. There were elements introduced along the way that thickened the conflict. The writing was awesome, a product of Cassandra Clare’s books. She has certainly grown as an author.

The epilogue was a total cliffhanger. I really want to read the second book, Lord of Shadows, and figure out where Clare is going to take me and her characters next.

Sixth: LADY MIDNIGHT by @cassieclare1 #ReadThemAllThon #bookstagram #LadyMidnight #book #PoreOverThePages #bookblog

A post shared by Pore Over the Pages (@poreoverthepages) on

Buy it here:

amazon

 

 

Barnes-and-Noble

 

7 thoughts on “Lady Midnight Review

  1. Morrisa says:

    After having read this after a few months, I kinda agree with you on liking the side characters more than Emma and Jules. They’re so dramatic. Plus my ship for that series is Ty x Kit, not EmmaxJules. So excited for the Ty&Kit to interact more !

    Like

  2. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    I haven’t read Lady Midnight, but I haven’t been much of a fan of Clare’s books! I feel like I should give this one a go though – third time’s the charm? Is parabatai introduced in the previous books, or is it a new concept in this book? Regardless, the idea seems very interesting… so maybe I should try it. Blah, I don’t know yet!

    Thank you for the review, Jessica!

    Like

Leave a Reply

