Blogger Recognition Award

blogger.png

I am excited because this is my first blogger award of any type. I want to thank M (mreadsbooks) @ A Blog of One’s Own (post) for nominating me for the Blogger Recognition Award.

 

Rules

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

 

How my blog started

Ok, how my blog started…. Well, in May of 2016 I had just finished my first year of college. By the time I started my blog I had taken all of my exams, finished all of my classes, and moved back home. I had recently figured out my life. I declared myself an English major with an emphasis in Literature and Language. I also declared my Spanish minor and writing minor, as well. I then knew what I wanted from life. I could picture myself in a bookish job, reading and working with YA authors/books. When I started to look for internships and potential jobs, I saw entries where a background in reading, editing, and reviewing was encouraged. Some even asked for a link to the prospective employee’s blog. Blogging, I thought, that could be fun and helpful towards my future career. So I jumped right in. I started a blog about books, specifically YA novels. Now you must understand, that I didn’t start this blog simply to get ahead in life, although it is a positive side effect. I have always loved books and reading. The book worlds were my escape and the book characters my friends. I loved where fantasy stories could take me, the different lives I could live vicariously through words on a page. Remember, that at the time when I started Pore Over the Pages, I had decided I wanted to take my passion further. This is what erupted from that defining moment in my life when I figured out which path I wanted to take.

 

Advice

I don’t really know how qualified I am to give advice since I am still a newbie, but alright. I am still learning, and I think that is the best experience a blogger can receive.

1. Share YOUR opinions.

This may sound obvious, but write what you believe. Don’t conform. Your reviews/ideas are for yourself first and for your audience second. Stay true to your personal thoughts.

2. Get involved.

Blog hop. Participate in weekly memes. Follow other blogs. Leave comments. Like posts. Join social media: Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Bloglovin’. Become friends and interact with fellow bloggers. Build yourself a good and friendly reputation.

 

Nominees

This award has been going around for a while, so if I tag you and you have already completed this award, link me to your post. If you participate due to my tag, let me know when you publish you post. You are in no way obligated to participate. If you want to join in, then have fun!

12 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

