#TheReadingQuest TBR Pile

When I first saw #TheReadingQuest, hosted by Read at Midnight, I immediately knew I had to join. I participated in Aentee’s #ReadThemAllThon last year and had a lot of fun. I might not get into the reading challenge as fiercely as I did last time, but I hope the Quest Board will help me with my TBR pile. This post is very wishy-washy. I will be reading, but WHAT I’ll be reading is still up in the air since I read based on mood.


ReadingQuestHeader.png

Aentee @ Read at Midnight is hosting #TheReadingQuest (sign-up post), a video game based reading challenge. The quest will take place between Sunday, August 13, to Sunday, September 10, 2017.


Character Class Options:

the-reading-quest-character-classes.png

“The path you take on the bingo board is entirely dependent on your chosen Character Class.”

“Once you pick a character, you must stay on their path (or the side quests) before you can proceed to another character.”

“KNIGHT: These players are warriors skilled in direct combat. On their quest, they are will fight their way through the First Across path. The stages within this path are inspired by action and weaponry.

BARD: While the bards may not engage in direct combat, they make up for it with their intimate knowledge of songs and stories. They will travel through the Fifth Down path on the quest board, reading famed tales and singing lost songs.

ROGUE: These adventurers have absolute mastery over stealth and speed, and they slip in and out of the quest through the Fifth Across path. They celebrate underappreciated books and half-forgotten stories.

MAGE: As wielders of spells and witchcraft, these players will conjure and summon their way through the First Down path on the quest. Their tomes contain magic and whispers of alternate lands.”


My Character:

Mage.png

To make your own card, read the FAQ section, or learn about experience/health points, click here.

(character art created by CW of Read, Think, Ponder, “Please do not use her art for any purposes outside of this reading challenge, unless you are given her express permission. Please credit her with a link back to your blog in your sign up post.”)


The Quest Board:

reading-quest-board

“You only need to read one book for each of the four corner stages on the quest board.”


My TBR:

The problem here: I have a TBR list to destroy, but I also read based on current interest. The titles below may change as I navigate the piles of books in my room. 🙈

 

MAGE

A Book with a One Word Title: Geekeralla by Ashley Poston

A Book that Contains Magic: Siege & Storm by Leigh Bardugo (if i loved Shadow & Bone) or The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

A Book Based on Mythology: Reawakened by Colleen Houck (previously DNF)

A Book Set in a Different World: Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo (I’ve heard that everyone loves to hate the Darkling)

The First Book of a Series: Ruined by Amy Tintera

 

KNIGHT

A Book with a Verb in It’s Title: Dark Breaks the Dawn by Sara Larson (I enjoyed this author’s Defy series)

A Book with a Weapon on It’s Cover: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton (if I like Rebel of the Sands) or Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes (re-read, so I can start book 5 and 6)

A Book with a Red Cover: Ruin & Rising by Leigh Bardugo (subject to change)

A Book that Has a TV/Movie Adaptation: Eragon by Christopher Paolini (I’ve always wanted to re-read this series, but it is quite long = subject to change)

 

SIDE QUESTS

(I may partake in some of the sidequests = TBA)

Leave a Reply

